

ELECTORAL REVIEW COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF THE ELECTORAL REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 8 JULY 2019 AT KENNET ROOM - COUNTY HALL, BYTHESEA ROAD, TROWBRIDGE, BA14 8JN.

Present:

Cllr Richard Clewer (Chairman), Cllr Gavin Grant, Cllr Christopher Newbury, Cllr Ashley O'Neill, Cllr Jonathon Seed (Vice-Chairman) and Cllr Graham Wright

1 Election of Chairman 2019/20

Resolved:

To appoint Councillor Richard Clewer as Chairman for the forthcoming year.

2 Election of Vice-Chairman 2019/20

Resolved:

To appoint Councillor Gavin Grant as Vice-Chairman for the forthcoming vear.

3 Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillors Ian McLennan and Ian Blair-Pilling.

4 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the meeting held on 11 March 2019 were presented for consideration, and it was,

Resolved:

To approve and sign the minutes as a true and correct record.

5 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations.

6 Chairman's Announcements

It was announced that the Local Government Boundary Commission for England had announced a further, limited consultation from 2 July-29 July rather than publish it's final recommendations. The Committee would discuss the issue under Urgent Items.

7 **Public Participation**

There were no statements or questions received.

8 Polling District and Polling Place Review

The Committee received the updated information in relation to the public consultation on the polling district and polling places review. The public notice would go out on 10 July 2019, and the closing date for consultation would be 9 September 2019. It was noted that there were only a few polling places which had accessibility issues, and that disability interest groups would be specifically contacted.

Resolved:

To authorise the Director of Legal, Electoral and Registration Services in consultation with the Chairman of the Electoral Review Committee to carry out the consultation in accordance with the arrangements outlined in the report.

9 **Community Governance Reviews**

The Committee received a report on arrangements for Community Governance Reviews. It was noted that as a result of delays to the Electoral Review this would cause delays to the start of any Community Governance Reviews, and that it would be necessary to prioritise which areas were reviewed. It was also noted that if delegation was approved by Full Council as requested, the Committee would be responsible for setting the scope and details of any forthcoming reviews, including the specific consultation arrangements in question.

Resolved:

That subject to additional delegation from Full Council, that on behalf of the Committee the Director of Legal, Electoral and Registration Services is authorised to contact all parishes to identify the number and extent of any requests for Community Governance Reviews that are desired.

10 **Date of Next Meeting**

The next formal meeting of the Committee would be 23 July 2019.

11 <u>Urgent Items</u>

The Committee discussed the updated draft recommendations from the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(LGBCE), which were subject to a limited consultation relating to areas of Warminster, South West Wiltshire, Southern and Amesbury Area Boards.

An initial meeting had been held for local members, with some content with the proposals and the others objecting. The Chairman outlined areas of potential concern including around the Bourne Valley and Deverill Valley. It was noted that there were no easy solutions to adhere to the necessary criteria, and that even the LGBCE had exceeded its usually accepted variance levels.

Further work would be undertaken to explore options for a response by the Council, including meetings with local members and contact with parishes. As a result of the limited timescale for a response, Full Council on 9 July 2019 would be requested to delegate final approval of a response to the Committee. The deadline for consultation was 29 July 2019, with a Committee meeting on 23 July 2019.

(Duration of meeting: 1.00 - 1.25 pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Kieran Elliott of Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718504, e-mail kieran.elliott@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115